Odd behaviour in diatomic molecule (Cl2) potential energy plot

Hello,

I’m a newbie to Psi4, and indeed, to the field of computational chemistry. I believe in free (as in speech, not only as in beer) software, and a unfortunate thing I perceived when starting my graduate studies is that the field is still dominated by proprietary tools. So, first and foremost, I’d like to praise the Psi4 developers for the job you’re doing for science and all of us.

To learn Psi4, I started with the simplest possible system. A diatomic molecule. I wrote a small python script(PsiAPI) trying to plot potential energy versus bond length, first for hydrogen, and then for chlorine, using four different functionals (hf, scf, b3lyp and mp2) and four different basis sets (sto-3g, 3-21G, 6-311G and 6-311G(d,p)) combined:

'''
Plots E vs. d for diatomic chlorine. To change for hydrogen, you can replace 
both Cl's  in geometry section for H, change range(150) to range(50)
and internuclearD = 1.5 + n/100 to internuclearD = 0.5 + n/100.
'''
import psi4
import time

psi4.set_memory('4GB')

for method in ['hf', 'scf', 'b3lyp', 'mp2']:
    for base in ['sto-3g', '3-21G', '6-311G', '6-311G(d,p)']:
        for n in range(150):
            internuclearD = 1.5 + n/100
            #psi4.core.set_output_file('curvaPotencialCl2_' + str(n) + '.dat', False)
            complexo = psi4.geometry('''
            0 1
            Cl         0.00000        0.00000        0.00000
            Cl         0.00000        0.00000        ''' + str(internuclearD))
            try:
                t1 = time.time()
                energia = psi4.energy(method + '/' + base, molecule = complexo)
                t2 = time.time()
                print('resultado;' + str(method) + ';' + str(base) + ';' + str(internuclearD) + ';' + str(energia) + ';' + str(t2 - t1))
            except:
                print('resultado;' + str(method) + ';' + str(base) + ';;')