Unexpected jumps in energies for 2nd row diatomics

Hello,

I’m new to psi4 and looking forward to using the python module within jupyter notebooks for class work.

Following the PsiAPI Tutorial, tried to map potential curves of 2nd row diatomics. Certain diatomics give strange results despite converging without complaints. I’ve (naively) fiddled with reference wfs, setting charge and multiplicity explicitly or letting psi4 set these, changing e_convergence, basis sets, etc. and the unexpected (to me) results are reproducible. So I’m probably missing something obvious!

Environment: linux conda python 3.6, psi4 1.1+add49b9.

The legends give multiplicity and diatom’s element. All of these were rohf scf/6-31g* (similar results with rhf on singlets tho).

Specifically, these were generated by looping over r values with psi4.energy() and a template string:
r = np.linspace(1.25, 4, 20)
zmat = “”"
B
B 1 %s
“”"
The hackish Jupyter notebook is rendered on github.

Any suggestions or guidance?

Thanks again…the python module enables an exciting new work flow!
Steve

1 Like

Bond breaking plots are best done from the outside, i.e. starting at a long distance. You then don’t have to worry about breaking the spatial symmetry of the orbitals. (I assume here you reuse the MOs from previous points)

Are you using molecular symmetry?
I have not much experience with ROHF, but I remember it being more prone to symmetry breaking than UHF.

Thanks for the suggestions.

I tried reversing the distances, working “outside-in”, and see the same results. I’m not (intentionally) re-using the orbitals. I’m passing a zmatrix to psi4.energy() for each value of r. I’m not doing an “update geometry”, but maybe I don’t understand what psi4 does under the hood after each energy calculation.