Help for a Complete Beginner

Hello All. Background Chemical Physics, molecular vibrational spectroscopy, nuclear industry, criticality safety. I am retired and have decided to return to my first love - orbitals, electrons and their behaviour - as an intellectual exercise for an old brain. I am running a Psi4 executable under Ubuntu from command line. I have run some test cases. Some very simple questions if I may…

• how do I get psi4 to output energies in eV?
  • what are the definitions of “one electron energy” and “two electron energy”?
  • can alpha, beta, virtual orbital energies be easily translated to s,p,d, sigma, pi terminology?
  • I have run a single H atom (wow!). How do i get the excited state energies?
  • Multiplicity - why must the spin state be specified up front? I was hoping that ab-initio would converge to the lowest energy at whatever calculated electron structure?
    Any help appreciated.
    Best regards, Donald.

Hi. Welcome to quantum chemistry :slight_smile:

how do I get psi4 to output energies in eV?

I am afraid you would need to convert the energies yourself. For some properties the output will be in eV already

• what are the definitions of “one electron energy” and “two electron energy”?

This depends on the Hamiltonian you are using. Are you familiar with Hartree-Fock theory?

• can alpha, beta, virtual orbital energies be easily translated to s,p,d, sigma, pi terminology?

Yes and No. You can break down the molecular orbitals (MOs) down to the atomic basis functions (s,p,d,f…) using population analysis. The chemical sigma and pi orbital do not come straightforwardly out of MO theory. You can localize orbitals and sometimes they look like chemical valence orbitals. You want to check out intrinsic bond orbitals (https://pubs.acs.org/doi/10.1021/ct400687b).

There are also tons of examples in the /samples of the psi4 installation directory of various calculations.

As to some of the other questions: