Obtain Total Energy - Distance Curves for different orbitals in Hydrogen H2 for use in General Chemistry Teaching

Dear PSI4 community,

I am not an expert in quantum chemical calculations. My objective is to adapt certain textbook plots to use them in teaching “General Chemistry”.
In particular, I would like to use PSI4 to calculate the total energy-distance curves for the hydrogen molecule H2. I succeed in obtaining the curve for the ground state (see the attached code which has been put together with the help of the available PSI4 tutorials). I can also directly obtain the energies of the molecular orbitals (not shown in the code), but what is needed is the total energy at a certain distance under the assumption that the electrons occupy higher orbitals.

Any suggestions on how I could obtain these values are greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much.

ps. The plot I would like to adapt is taken from Atkins / Friedmann (Molecular Quantum Mechanics).

import numpy as np
import pandas as pd

memory 600 mb

molecule h {
	H
}

set reference uhf
h_energy, h_wfn = energy("ccsd(t)/cc-pVDZ", base_type="cp", return_wfn=True)

molecule h2 {
	H
	H 1 R
}

Rvals = np.linspace(0.15,3.5,50)
set reference rhf

rows = []
table = []

for R in Rvals:
    h2.R = R
    h2_energy, h2wfn = energy("ccsd(t)/cc-pVDZ", base_type="cp", return_wfn = True)
    bonding = psi_hartree2kJmol * (h2_energy  - 2*h_energy)
    rows.append(R)
    table.append([bonding])

df = pd.DataFrame(table, columns = ["bonding"], index = rows)
df.to_csv("h2.csv")

First, you can simplify ccsd(t)/cc-pVDZ to ccsd/cc-pVDZ and remove the base_type keyword. base_type is only useful for computations with multiple non-interacting fragments, and the (t) is only meaningful for systems with more than two electrons.