Calculation of the interaction energy by the fi-sapt method

Dear Psi4 community,
I hope you’ll give me a hand.
I am studying non-covalent interactions, so there is a need to calculate the interaction energy. However, the dimer under study is linked by a pair of atoms to each other. To evaluate the energy of the contact, I decided to use the fi-sapt method. However, the results are rather strange. According to the QTAIM method, interaction energy = -2.1 kcal/mol. Calculated by the fi-sapt method, it turned out + 1.29 kcal/mol. That to recheck the results of fi-sapt I calculated sapt, for a dimer, replacing in one of the molecules a chlorine atom with hydrogen so that there was no contact of the chlorine 16 atom with oxygen 7. The interaction energy turned out to be -3.4 kcal/mol.
Please tell me why the calculated energy by the fi-sapt method turned out to be positive?
The calculated energy in a dimer with substituted chlorine for hydrogen can be considered the interaction energy of the contact Cl1—O22?
How do I calculate the interaction energy of contact Cl1 — O22?
Many thanks for your kind attention.
Best regards
Eugene

fsapt.dat (10.0 KB) fragA.dat (4.4 KB) fragB.dat (4.4 KB) contact

That’s the interaction energy between two molecules not between two functional groups or or atoms.
If you divide the value by two you have about the interaction energy of one Cl----O bond if you ignore the long range interaction between the whole molecules. Halogenated molecules like to behave unexpectedly compared to hydrogenated ones, so the long range interaction might not be ignorable.

QTAIM interaction estimation might or might not work, it’s an estimate and again, halogenated cases might need to be studied carefully before density-based relations are used.

F-SAPT0 will depend on your functional group and what bonds you cut. Cutting the C=O double bond is probably not a good idea. You can try doing C=O and Cl, or C=O and Cl-C fragments instead.