Automatic selection of active orbitals

I am very new to Psi4 and even to quantum chemistry, so perhaps this is a dumb question: Is there a way to automatically select the active space? I know that with Natural Orbitals this is implemented (FNOCC: Frozen natural orbitals for CCSD(T), QCISD(T), CEPA, and MP4) but I am interested in making this work with OpenFermion, where Natural Orbitals are not used.

1. Automated selection of the active space is an active field of research, so there isn’t one way to do this. There are several.
  2. At present, none of them are implemented in Psi4, and I don’t foresee this changing. Our CASSCF code is built off our FCI code. The Psi developers who know the latest and greatest multireference methods aren’t familiar with Psi4’s FCI code, and vice versa. There’s a very high barrier to working with the FCI code as well.
  3. The Evangelista group has a Psi4 plugin called Forte which does CASSCF and has the AVAS scheme for automated CASSCF orbital selection implemented. If you’re interested, I can advise you on getting it setup and running. Depending on what exactly “making this work with OpenFermion” means, it may be possible to do the same with Forte.
1 Like

Usually, concepts of active space and active orbitals are extensively used in multi-reference methods. Active orbitals means limited number of active occupied and unoccupied orbitals for computations of static correlation energy, e.g. CAS(6e,6o).

But FNO- methods you listed are single reference post-HF methods, where active orbitals often means limited number of active virtual orbitals for computations of dynamic correlation energy. This number is often much large than that in multi-reference methods. So this concept has slightly different meanings in different sub-fields.