Using Psi4 as an external optimizer

I would like to use Psi4’s optimizer for geometry optimizations. I have a python (and perl) script which can compute energy and gradients. I couldn’t find much regarding external optimization in the manual. Is it possible to use Psi4’s optimizer while calculating gradients using a different program?

See Geometry Optimisation with arbitrary wavefunction.

Are there special features you need?

Could be easier to use: https://github.com/psi-rking/optking

Thanks a lot for your suggestions. At the moment, I don’t think I need any special features. I will try both methods but it seems like using optking (https://github.com/psi-rking/optking) is a better option, since I just need an optimizer.

I am new to Psi4 and I have been trying your method, but it seems like the function I have written is not returning the gradient in the format that psi4 wants. I am calling the gradient function as follows, psi4.optimize(grad_fun.get_grad(jobname, geom, elem, mcharge, multiplicity), dertype=1, molecule=test)

The function get_grad takes geometry, molecular charge, and multiplicity as inputs and returns a numpy array of the gradient, and a random quantity (charge in my case) as the second argument. I am getting this error, “AttributeError: ‘tuple’ object has no attribute ‘lower’” for line 986 in driver.py

The first argument to optimize needs to be a gradient function, not the result of evaluating a gradient function.

I apologize but I am not sure if I understood what exactly you meant. Do I need to call my gradient function as follows then,
psi4.optimize(opt_func=grad_fun.get_grad(jobname, geom, elem, mcharge, multiplicity), dertype=1, molecule=test)
The above syntax seems to be working. But optimize requires name argument as well. I am not sure what value to give for that since I am calculating energy and gradients externally.