Get two-particle density matrix from a CC calculation

Hello everybody,

I am new to Psi4, and I have just installed the 1.3.2 version. I was wondering if it is possible to retrieve the two-particle density matrix (in AOs) from a CC calculation. From the manual I have understood that there is a get_tpdm() method for the CIWavefunction, but I did not manage to find something similar for the CCWavefunction. In the CCDENSITY module seems to be available a kind of twopdm() function that calculate the two-particle density matrix contributions, but I don’t know how to use it.

Thank you very much, I appreciate every kind of help!

Piero

1 Like

Can I ask what exactly your use case is? I can offer better advice based on that.

The Coupled Cluster code is old and not exactly well-maintained, but I can be convinced to go exploring it for the sake of reduced density matrices.

Hi,

thank you for you help! I need the TPDM because I want to compare the results with the one calculated by means of the HF method. I managed to recover the OPDM in different ways, such with the following input that I adapted from this forum:

import psi4
psi4.set_output_file(“2rdm.out”, False)
psi4.set_memory(‘20GB’)
psi4.set_num_threads(28)
mol_string = “”"
symmetry c1
0 1
O 0.009319 1.133156 0.000000
H 0.023452 0.185621 0.000000
H 0.906315 1.422088 0.000000
units angstrom
“”"
psimol = psi4.geometry(mol_string, name=“h2”)
psi4.set_options({
‘SCF_TYPE’: ‘PK’,
‘BASIS’: “3-21G”,
‘E_CONVERGENCE’: 1e-12,
‘D_CONVERGENCE’: 1e-12,
‘R_CONVERGENCE’: 1e-12,
‘REFERENCE’: ‘RHF’
})
E, wf = energy(‘scf’, return_wfn=True)
grad, ccwf = psi4.gradient(‘ccsd’, return_wfn=True, ref_wfn=wf)
print(ccwf.Da().to_array(copy=False, dense=True))
psi4.core.clean_options()
psi4.core.clean()

but if I don’t know how to extend it to the TPDM case.

Thank you very much.

Piero