Embarrassingly parallel frequency calculation misbehaving

I have a concern with the Embarrassingly parallel mode for calculating frequencies. The following file will calculate frequencies for water using a numerical hessian as well as generate the input files for the individual sow-reap process.

In principle, both methods should generate the same numerical hessian and the same harmonic frequencies, but I get something different

symmetry    conventional  sow/reap   (fequencies)
     A1         1691.8476       1691.8474
     A1         3827.0203       3827.0203 
     B2         3932.8218       3533.7750 

The B2 mode is different. The conventionally calculated B2 frequency is correct (by referencing an analogous G09 calculation). I have tried this with a few different levels of theory to yield a similar result. I think this may be a bug in the construction of the hessian.

Any suggestions?

Using Git: Rev {master} 77546d2 dirty by the way

memory 3000 mb
set_num_threads(2)

molecule water {
0 1
O
H 1 r1
H 1 r1 2 a1

r1 = 0.95
a1 = 104.0
}

set {
basis cc-pvdz
freeze_core true
}

optimize(‘ccsd(t)’, dertype=‘energy’)
frequencies(‘ccsd(t)’, dertype=‘energy’)
frequencies(‘ccsd(t)’, dertype=‘energy’, mode=‘sow’)

I got a chance to look at this:

1. Confirmed this is reproducible with SCF.
  2. The Cs displaced energy is wrong in the sow/reap case.
  3. The Cs displaced geometry is wrong in the sow/reap case - it is (in error) C2v. Clearly, the displaced geometry is getting symmetrized.
  4. Realized the problem/bug appears in the use of the Z-matrix in the input file. PSI4 is trying to be intelligent by outputing the displaced geometry in the various input files in z-matrix format (since that is what you used initially). But the driver isn’t smart enough to reject your z-matrix format (with two equivalent bong lengths assigned to the variable r1) and construct a new one with two different bond lengths.